General Information about India

India is a country of bewilderingly great diversities. We keep marveling at the incredibly harmonious co-existence of various religions & culture; its varied landscapes from Kashmir to Kannyakumari and from Gujarat to Arunachal Pradesh! India is a culinary delight with endless cuisines – in fact every single home is like a cookery school! India is also a place for Ayurveda, Yoga, Spiritual Learning, Amazing Arts & Crafts, Mountains, Backwaters, Nature, Rivers, Deserts & Wildlife enthusiasts….!


This sub continent boasts of over 7500 km of coastline, having highest & youngest mountain chain of Himalayas, having second largest network of roads in the world (also second highest population 😉 besides having 38 Cultural & Natural World Heritage Sites (as of mid 2020)


“India is, the cradle of the human race, the birthplace of human speech, the mother of history, the grandmother of legend, and the great grandmother of tradition. Our most valuable and most instructive materials in the history of man are treasured up in India only.” By Mark Twain

States and Capitals

  1. Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad)
  2. Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar)
  3. Assam (Dispur)
  4. Bihar (Patna)
  5. Chhattisgarh (Raipur)
  6. Goa (Panaji)
  7. Gujarat (Gandhinagar)
  8. Haryana (Chandigarh)
  9. Himachal Pradesh (Shimla)
  10. Jharkhand (Ranchi)
  11. Karnataka (Bangalore)
  12. Kerala (Thiruvananthapuram)
  13. Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal)
  14. Maharashtra (Mumbai)
  15. Manipur (Imphal)
  16. Meghalaya (Shillong)
  17. Mizoram (Aizawl)
  18. Nagaland (Kohima)
  19. Odisha (Bhubaneshwar)
  20. Punjab (Chandigarh)
  21. Rajasthan (Jaipur)
  22. Sikkim (Gangtok)
  23. Tamil Nadu (Chennai)
  24. Telangana (Hyderabad)
  25. Tripura (Agartala)
  26. Uttarakhand (Dehradun)
  27. Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow)
  28. West Bengal (Kolkata)


Union Territories

  1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands (Port Blair)
  2. Chandigarh (Chandigarh)
  3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu
  4. The Government of NCT of Delhi (Delhi)
  5. Jammu & Kashmir (Srinagar-Summer, Jammu-Winter)
  6. Ladakh (Leh)
  7. Lakshadweep (Kavaratti)
  8. Puducherry (Puducherry)


Source: Know India Website from Government of India

Also Check out: